parenting, Uncategorized

Just keep still!

bed
We are pretty lucky when it comes to bed time (a phrase I never thought I’d say after two years of the littlest refusing to sleep through the night). During the worst of times I may have been up six or seven times a night but one thing we have never had a problem with is bed hopping. I have friends who end up sleeping in every bed in the house as kids wander out of their rooms and decide they have to sleep with mummy/daddy/a sibling.

For all our sleep deprivation, my two have always slept in their own beds in their own rooms and for some blessed reason we have never heard the patter of tiny feet in the middle of the night. They have always stayed put as if some invisible force field is making them stay in their rooms. Please don’t hate me, I promise I’m not bragging and it is a pure fluke. I wish I could tell you why this has happened (if I knew I’d write a book about it and make a fortune) but for some reason they just don’t budge!

 But of course there are exceptions to every golden rule and when the kids are ill we do let them crawl in next to mummy (and daddy gets to slope off to the spare room). It’s always on our suggestion and usually so we can keep a bit closer eye on the patient. On the rare occasion I have had to share a bed with my eldest it’s been fine. She’s laid still, closed her eyes and drifted off like a regular Sleeping Beauty. The same can’t be said for three year old Henry who I think must have some octopus genes in him somewhere. The boy is incapable of lying still! One minute there’s a foot in my face, then an elbow in my back, legs are thrown over mine and then he starts snoring with me pinned to the mattress like some hapless WWF wrestler.

The same thing happens on a morning when they both come in for a cuddle before we get up. Megan will cuddle in and snooze, Henry usually decides to use daddy as a trampoline or at the very least circles around his bit of the bed like a dog trying to get comfortable.

We are pretty lucky when it comes to bed time (a phrase I never thought I’d say after two years of the littlest refusing to sleep through the night). One thing we have never had a problem with is bed hopping. I have friends who end up sleeping in every bed in the house as kids wander out of their rooms and decide they have to sleep with mummy/daddy/a sibling.

For all our sleep deprivation, my two have always slept in their own beds in their own rooms and for some blessed reason we have never heard the patter of tiny feet in the middle of the night. They have always stayed put as if some invisible force field is making them stay in their rooms. Please don’t hate me, I promise I’m not bragging and it is a pure fluke. I wish I could tell you why this has happened (if I knew I’d write a book about it and make a fortune) but for some reason they just don’t budge!

 But of course there are exceptions to every golden rule and when the kids are ill we do let them crawl in next to mummy (and daddy gets to slope off to the spare room). It’s always on our suggestion and usually so we can keep a bit closer eye on the patient. On the rare occasion I have had to share a bed with my eldest it’s been fine. She’s laid still, closed her eyes and drifted off like a regular Sleeping Beauty. The same can’t be said for three year old Henry who I think must have some octopus genes in him somewhere. The boy is incapable of lying still! One minute there’s a foot in my face, then an elbow in my back, legs are thrown over mine and then he starts snoring with me pinned to the mattress like some hapless WWF wrestler.

The same thing happens on a morning when they both come in for a cuddle before we get up. Megan will cuddle in and snooze, Henry usually decides to use daddy as a trampoline or at the very least circles around his bit of the bed like a dog trying to get comfortable.

Threats of returning to his own bed don’t work and even if I try to restrain him with a loving cuddle he wriggles like a greased eel! I am writing this through bleary eyes having just endured night of torture with the boy in our bed. He’s now back in his own bed sleeping off his bug while I struggle with the mountain of washing that comes with having a sick child. The annoying thing is every time I go and check on him he hasn’t moved a muscle! After the night of contortions we’ve just had that’s just taking the Mick!

Threats of returning to his own bed don’t work and even if I try to restrain him with a loving cuddle he wriggles like a greased eel! I am writing this through bleary eyes having just endured night of torture with the boy in our bed. He’s now back in his own bed sleeping off his bug while I struggle with the mountain of washing that comes with having a sick child. The annoying thing is every time I go and check on him he hasn’t moved a muscle! After the night of contortions we’ve just had that’s just taking the Mick!

Standard

Leave a Reply

