Uncategorized

An inspiring bake

The-Great-British-Bake-Off

For the first time my six year old has joined me on a Wednesday night to watch Great British Bake Off. I am a terrible baker (I blame my inherited oven) and so maybe I hoped watching Mary and Paul would inspire Megan to venture into a world of cakes and bread I’ve always avoided. What I never expected was that my shy, dutiful little girl would learn a life lesson from a baking show.

Over to our 2015 winner Nadiya who gave the most heartfelt winner’s speech I’ve ever heard. Forget the false emotion of the Oscars, when Nadiya was handed the winner’s trophy she was genuinely speechless and the reaction of her family was awe-inspiring. But the best bit came when she had recovered enough to finally speak and without realising it became a poster girl for shrinking violets everywhere:

“I’m never gonna put boundaries on myself ever again. I’m never gonna say I can’t do it. I’m never gonna say ‘maybe’. I’m never gonna say, ‘I don’t think I can.’ I can and I will.”

No wonder even Mary Berry was reduced to tears! I was so glad I’d recorded the show so when I’d fixed my mascara and composed myself I could sit Megan down again and make her really listen and understand what Nadiya was saying. Megan is the queen of ‘can’t’ and as the parent of any nervous and anxious child will tell you it’s not always easy to think of new ways to boost their confidence and protect their fragile egos. But somehow I think seeing a funny, young female baker achieve her wildest dreams whilst keeping her feet firmly on the ground may just have struck home where my words never could. Even her twitter profile refers to her status as a sister, daughter, mother and wife before mentioning her win – truly humble. Thank you Nadiya for some unexpected inspiration!

Standard

Leave a Reply

